GCC countries will start collecting VAT taxes in 2018 - BPX

On January 1, 2018, UAE and Saudi Arabia introduced the first-ever VAT, a tax on goods and services that consumers must pay at the time of purchase – however other Gulf nations, including Bahrain, Kuwait and Oman delayed introducing the tax until 2019.